Background

The idea of promoting the Grand Duchy abroad goes back to the 1990s. With globalisation, it had become increasingly clear that the country needed coordinated action in order to nurture its image and structure its promotion.

An initial structure was set up in the early 2000s at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, bringing together a number of key players in promoting the Grand Duchy abroad. A visual identity for promoting the country was developed in 2004, providing an initial framework for the various initiatives. 

The Nation Branding Committee set up in March 2013 sets out and implements strategies for promoting the country’s brand image. The committee is coordinated by a small team at the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and chaired by a representative of the Ministry of the Economy; its members represent about fifteen ministries and institutions. Its action is one of the Government’s priorities. It is henceforth known as Coordination Committee Inspiring Luxembourg.

"The promotion of the Grand Duchy as a place that welcomes foreign investment, as an exporting country, and as a tourist, cultural and commercial destination will be based on the implementation of a concept of ‘nation branding’. Positive values carried by the image of the Grand Duchy will be set forth and applied by the various actors and in official media campaigns, for which the Government will make available the necessary resources."

Extract from the Government agreement of December 2013

  • Updated 05-10-2016

Rückblick

Die Frage nach einer systematischen Werbung für Luxemburg im Ausland geht auf Diskussionen in den 1990er Jahren zurück. Durch die Globalisierung trat der Bedarf an koordinierten Maßnahmen zur Aufwertung der Außendarstellung und Strukturierung der Landeswerbung immer deutlicher zu Tage.

Anfang der 2000er Jahre wurde im Ministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten ein erstes Referat eingerichtet, das einige Schlüsselakteure der Landeswerbung im Ausland vereinte. Eine visuelle Identität für Luxemburg wurde 2004 entwickelt, die den verschiedenen Maßnahmen einen ersten einheitlichen Auftritt verschaffte.

Der im März 2013 gegründete Ausschuss Nation Branding ist mit der Aufgabe betraut, Strategien zur Imagewerbung vorzuschlagen und diese umzusetzen. Für die Koordinierung zuständig ist ein kleines Team im Ministerium für auswärtige und europäische Angelegenheiten unter Vorsitz eines Vertreters aus dem Wirtschaftsministerium. Der Ausschuss setzt sich aus Mitgliedern von etwa 15 Ministerien und Institutionen zusammen. Die Arbeit des Ausschusses, der inzwischen Koordinierungsausschuss Inspiring Luxembourg heißt, ist eine der Prioritäten der Regierung.

"Die Förderung Luxemburgs als Zielland ausländischer Investitionen, als Exportland und als touristisches, kulturelles und wirtschaftlich attraktives Ziel wird sich auf die Einführung eines Nation Branding-Konzeptes stützen. Ein mit positiven Werten besetztes Bild von Luxemburg soll definiert werden und von unterschiedlichen Akteuren und in offiziellen von der Regierung mit den notwendigen Mitteln ausgestatteten Medienkampagnen verwendet werden."

(Auszug aus der Koalitionsvereinbarung – Dezember 2013)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 05-10-2016