Creative Luxembourg!

One of Luxembourg’s least-known attributes is rapidly becoming one of its major assets. In the digital era, creativity is emerging as a central feature of society as well as an inspiration for the national economy.

Luxembourg understands that creativity is the key to its future. With major cultural events, musical, dance and theatrical productions of the highest quality, museums of international ambition, special legal frameworks for artists and collectors, a flourishing film industry recognised by a 2014 Oscar for Laurent Witz’s Mr Hublot, and a Grammy for Gast Waltzing in 2016, artistic and creative activity is in evidence everywhere. Facilities to house and stimulate talent are springing up throughout the country, such as the bubbling 1535° incubator, the spectacular Technoport space and the Bamhaus platform for creative workers, all established on reclaimed industrial land.

Collectives for independent artists have grown up in fields such as animation, video, design, visual arts and music. An ecosystem encompassing the emergence of technology in areas ranging from finance and space exploration to social improvement and even food is in constant development, stimulated by a multicultural context fostering disruptive ideas and an attractive environment for IT skills and start-ups. Inaugurated in 2018, the House of startups (HoST) regrouping 5 incubators and accelerators, aims to propel the capital to the forefront of startup cities.

The Grand Duchy has mastered the art of combining a liberal and extremely business-friendly climate with strong public support for innovation and cultural creation.

The national Creative Industries Cluster established in 2017 to harness energies and potential for cross-fertilisation in areas from architecture to design and visual arts, already counts more than a hundred members. In contrast to the nine highly specialised clusters for sectors including technology, the automotive industry, biohealth and materials, the new, much more abstract addition bolsters the country’s creative talent and raises its international profile. Its ultimate goal: To foster emergence of a concrete pillar of the economy of the future.

300m

Luxembourg will become one of the first European cities to install a virtual reality environment across space and time in the Pfaffenthal district.

1

1 Oscar, 1 Grammy Award, 1 Lion d’or, 1 Echo Preis – an impressive collection of international honours for Luxembourg’s artistic community.

#15

Luxembourg was ranked 15th out of 128 countries in the 2018 Global Innovation Index compiled by Cornell University and INSEAD.

#1

The world’s most business-friendly country in 2018, according to BAV Consulting and the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton business school.

  • Updated 15-11-2018

Creative Luxembourg!

Eine der oft verkannten Facetten Luxemburgs ist auf dem besten Wege, sich zu einer seiner wichtigsten Stärken zu entwickeln. Im digitalen Zeitalter bereichert Kreativität die Gesellschaft und dient zugleich als Inspirationsquelle für ihre Wirtschaft.

Luxemburg hat erkannt, dass seine Zukunft in der Kreativität liegt. Bedeutende kulturelle Veranstaltungen, künstlerisches Schaffen auf internationalem Niveau (Musik, Tanz, Theater …), ambitionierte Museen, vorteilhafte Rahmenbedingungen für Künstler und Sammler, eine blühende Filmindustrie ausgezeichnet mit einem Oscar für Mr Hublot von Laurent Witz im Jahr 2014 und einem Grammy für Gast Waltzing im Jahr 2016 … Kunst und Kreativität erleben in Luxemburg in allen Bereichen einen regelrechten Boom. Neue Treffpunkte entstehen, wo sich Talente niederlassen und entfalten können (wie der überaus erfolgreiche Creativity Hub 1535°, der einen spektakulären Rahmen bietende Technoport oder die Bamhaus-Community, die sich alle drei auf ehemaligen Industriebrachen befinden).

Überall entstehen Kollektive freischaffender Künstler in den Bereichen Animation, Video, Design, bildende Künste und Musik. Auch Fin-, Food-, Reg- Space und Social-Tech erleben eine rasante Entwicklung und erhalten zusätzlichen Schub durch ein für disruptives Denken günstiges multikulturelles Umfeld sowie attraktive Rahmenbedingungen für Informatiktalente und Start-up-Unternehmen. Das 2018 eingeweihte House of startups (HoST genannt) will mit seinen 5 Acceleratoren und Inkubatoren, aus der Haupstadt ein „Startup-Hub" für junge Unternehmer machen.

Dem Großherzogtum gelang es, sich zu einem liberalen, sehr businessorientierten Gemeinwesen zu entwickeln (international ist Luxemburg als eines der unternehmensfreundlichsten Länder weltweit anerkannt), gleichzeitig aber auch zu einem Land, in dem die staatliche Unterstützung von Innovation und Kultur eine sehr große Rolle spielt.

In diesem Sinne wurde 2017 der nationale Cluster "Creative Industries" ins Leben gerufen, um Energien zu bündeln und Potenziale in den Bereichen Architektur, Design, bildende Kunst usw. zusammenzuführen. Im Vergleich zu den neun anderen bestehenden Clustern (ICT, Automotive, Biohealth, Materialwirtschaft …) handelt es sich hier um eine viel "immateriellere" Plattform, die kreative Talente unterstützt und deren internationale Wahrnehmung und Verflechtung verbessert. Ihr Ziel? Kreativität zu einer echten Säule der Wirtschaft von morgen zu machen.

300m

Als eine der ersten europäischen Städte wird Luxemburg über eine Virtual-Reality-Strecke durch Raum und Zeit in einem seiner Viertel, nämlich Pfaffenthal, verfügen.

1

1 Oscar, 1 Grammy Award, 1 Goldener Löwe, 1 Echo-Preis … : ein stattlicher Erfolg für die Luxemburger Kulturszene. 

#15

Beim Global Innovation Index 2018 der Cornell-Universität und Insead belegt Luxemburg den zwölften von insgesamt 152 Plätzen.

#1

Von BAV Consulting und der Wharton School der University of Pennsylvania als unternehmensfreundlichstes Land 2018 eingestuft.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 15-11-2018