Future-proof

The product of more than 1,000 years of history, Luxembourg is firmly focused on the future – accustomed to taking the world by surprise and repeatedly demonstrating an inexhaustible ability to reinvent itself.

What ingredients does a society need to offer its citizens for an inspiring future?

The enthusiasm of the next generation and the quality of its education and training? Young people in Luxembourg, who say they are more satisfied with their lives than their counterparts elsewhere in Europe, are for the most part trilingual – and some even more polyglot.

Committing financial resources to future-oriented projects? Today more than ever, the state is investing and innovating in public projects and infrastructure, often in collaboration with the private sector.

Social cohesion? At the World Economic Forum in Davos, the Grand Duchy has been lauded as the world’s second most inclusive economy.

But this is all secondary to the audacity that sets Luxembourg apart as a nation. The country has embraced Jeremy Rifkin’s blueprint for a third industrial revolution designed to ensure by 2050 a resilient and sustainable economy, thanks to a fully interconnected ecosystem encompassing intelligent transport, renewable energy and new communications technology. It is the first country to create a framework for a circular economy and to integrate its principles into public procurement markets. Its financial services industry already leads the world in the listing of green bonds and is establishing itself as a hub for climate finance.

Most recently, this audacity has taken a dramatically new dimension with the proclaimed ambition of Luxembourg, already the global leader in satellite communications and broadcasting, to become a major player in the management and use of space resources. That will be a potent topic for the 2020 Universal Exposition in Dubai, under the theme of "Connecting Minds, Creating the Future" – in which Luxembourg is, not surprisingly, one of the first announced participants.

85%

In a survey by Statec and Eurostat, 85% of young residents between ages 16 and 24 say they were always, or mostly, satisfied with life during the four weeks preceding, compared with 71% across Europe as a whole.

#2

Luxembourg is ranked second in the 2018 index of "most inclusive economies" unveiled by the World Economic Forum at Davos.

#15

Luxembourg was placed 15th out of 128 countries in the 2018 Global Innovation Index compiled by Cornell University and INSEAD.

#1

It is the first country to adopt the third industrial revolution blueprint for an intelligent and green economy. 

#1

Luxembourg has the leading European market share of responsible investment funds (45% of AUM in environment strategy funds) and of European impact funds (2/3 of AUM are domiciled in Luxembourg).

  • Updated 16-11-2018

Future proof

Ein Land mit einer mehr als 1000-jährigen Geschichte und zugleich der Zukunft zugewandt: Luxemburg überrascht die Welt mit seinen Ideen und schafft es, sich seine Zukunft immer wieder neu zu erfinden.

Was braucht es, damit eine Gesellschaft ihren Bürgern Lust auf Zukunft macht?

Die Begeisterung der Jugend und die Qualität ihrer Ausbildung? Mehr als anderswo in Europa bezeichnen sich die Jugendlichen in Luxemburg als optimistisch und sie sind mehrheitlich dreisprachig.

Starke Investitionen in die Zukunft? Noch nie hat das Land so viel investiert und so viele Neuerungen eingeführt wie heute, sowohl bei den öffentlichen Infrastrukturen als auch im Privatsektor.

Einen starken sozialen Zusammenhalt? Beim Wirtschaftsforum in Davos wurde das Großherzogtum als zweitintegrativste Wirtschaft der Welt eingestuft.

Doch was wäre all dies ohne jenes Quäntchen Wagemut, das Luxemburg zu einer so besonderen Nation macht? Das ganze Land hat sich vor kurzem mit Jeremy Rifkin auf den Weg zu seiner dritten industriellen Revolution gemacht, damit es 2050 über eine widerstandsfähige und nachhaltige Wirtschaft verfügt. Erreicht werden soll dieses Ziel durch ein wirtschaftliches Umfeld, wo intelligente Verkehrsnetze, erneuerbare Energien und neue Kommunikationstechnologien miteinander vernetzt sind. Als erstes Land hat Luxemburg einen Rahmen für die Entwicklung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft vorgelegt und die entsprechenden Prinzipien bei der Zuteilung öffentlicher Aufträge berücksichtigt. Sein Finanzplatz, der bereits weltweit führend bei der Notierung grüner Anleihen ist, gehört heute zu den unumgänglichen Akteuren im Klimafinanzbereich.

Vor kurzem hat dieser Wagemut jedoch eine unerwartete Dimension erreicht: Das "kleine" Luxemburg, heute schon Nr. 1 im Bereich der Kommunikationssatelliten, verfolgt tatsächlich das ehrgeizige Ziel, ein wichtiger Akteur bei der Nutzung von Bodenschätzen im Weltraum zu werden. "Space Mining" wird auch ein Schwerpunktthema für die 2020 in Dubai stattfindende Weltausstellung "Connecting Minds, Creating the Future", zu der Luxemburg als eines der ersten Länder überhaupt seine Teilnahme angekündigt hat …

85%

85 % der jungen Einwohner von 16 bis 24 Jahren hatten während der vier Wochen vor einer entsprechenden Statec- und Eurostat-Umfrage immer oder meistens das Gefühl, glücklich zu sein. Bei den gleichaltrigen Europäern, gaben dies nur 71 % an.

#2

Gemäß dem Index der integrativsten Volkswirtschaften des Weltwirtschaftsforums (WEF) 2018 in Davos belegt Luxemburg den zweiten von hundertachtundzwanzig Plätzen.

#15

Gemäß dem Global Innovation Index 2018 von Cornell-Universität und Insead belegt Luxemburg den fünfzehnten von insgesamt 128 Plätzen.

#1

Erstes Land im Zeitalter der intelligenten und ökologischen Dritten Industriellen Revolution.

#1

Luxemburg hat den führenden europäischen Marktanteil an nachhaltigen Investmentfonds (45% des verwalteten Vermögens in Umweltfonds) und europäischen Impact Fonds (2/3 des verwalteten Vermögens sind in Luxemburg aufgelegt).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 20-11-2018