Smart Nation

It’s a fact that Luxembourg has given a boost to IT infrastructure, the Cloud, Fintech and Biotech. More than that though, the entire society has set out to achieve the title of "Smart Nation", a nation that is multilingual, cosmopolitan, hyper-connected, enterprising and well trained.

Which country in the world was first to embrace Jeremy Rifkin’s vision and apply it to its economy and society? The Grand Duchy is an ideal test-bed to combine information technology, renewable sources of energy and smart transport networks.

Who aims to bring Earth closer to the stars? Luxembourg’s skills in mining, finance and space place it in a perfect position to work out a suitable legal framework to develop the utilisation of space resources.

Which university has managed to rank as one of the top ten international universities in the world within less than 10 years? Luxembourg’s university has set foot in Belval, an amazing site with high-quality infrastructure, aesthetically impressive, and bringing together public and private actors.

Which country in the world masters so many languages, is able to bring together so many diverse nationalities within the workplace, and provides opportunities for rapid career advancement? Luxembourg cultivates diversity in all its forms and is committed to collective knowledge.

There are endless examples. In today’s world, it’s not the technical infrastructure alone that matters. It’s the qualitative aspects such as social skills that are key and that are highly valued by business. Apply this to an entire country, and an exceptional ecosystem unfolds.

Top 5

Luxembourg ranks 5th in the DESI (Digital Economy and Society Index), thanks to the population's digital proficiency among others. 

Top 10

Ranked by INSEAD and it's Global Innovation Index the country is the 8th most innovative country in Europe and 15th in the world.

Top 200

Within ten years of its existence, the University of Luxembourg has gained its place amongst the 200 best universities in the world.

#1

#1 worldwide for technological readiness according to the World Economic Forum.

#1

1st data embassy worldwide in partnership with the Estonian government.

3

CISCO will accompany Luxembourg during 3 years to help accelerate it's digital transformation.

79%

79% of the population use online baking services. (68% in Europe)

82%

82% are online shoppers (61% in Europe)

25%

25% of Europe's Tier IV data centres are located in Luxembourg.

1

Luxembourg launches the first European High Performance computing project with France, Italy and Spain.

  • Updated 14-11-2018

Smart Nation

Ohne Frage hat sich der Staat in Luxemburg massiv für IT-Infrastrukturen, für die Nutzung der Cloud oder für die FinTech- und BioTech-Branchen engagiert. Aber auch die ganze Gesellschaft ist auf dem Weg, sich den Titel einer "Smart Nation" zu verdienen aufgrund ihrer mehrsprachigen, kosmopolitischen, stark vernetzten, unternehmerischen und sehr gut ausgebildeten Eigenschaften.

Welches Land hat als erstes die Ideen von Jeremy Rifkin angenommen um sie bei der Entwicklung seiner Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft mit einfließen zu lassen? Luxemburg ist das ideale Versuchslabor, um Informationstechnologien, erneuerbare Energien und intelligente Verkehrsnetze miteinander zu verknüpfen.

Wer arbeitet daran, die Schätze des Weltalls zu erschließen? Luxemburg verfügt aufgrund seiner Bergbau-, Finanz- und Weltraumerfahrung in dreifacher Hinsicht über die notwendigen Voraussetzungen zur Schaffung eines rechtlichen Rahmens für die Entwicklung der Rohstoffgewinnung im Weltall.

Welcher Universität ist es in weniger als 10 Jahren gelungen, sich an die Spitze des weltweiten Rankings der internationalen Universitäten zu setzen? Die Universität Luxemburg ist in Belval angesiedelt, einem hochmodernen Standort, der aufgrund der Qualität seiner Infrastrukturen, der Ästhetik seiner Architektur und dem innovativen Mix öffentlicher und privater Akteuren vor Ort, einzigartig in Europa ist.

Welches Land spricht so viele Sprachen, wo treffen so viele unterschiedliche Nationalitäten am Arbeitsplatz aufeinander und wo bieten sich so gute berufliche Aufstiegschancen in kürzester Zeit? In Luxemburg wird kulturelle Vielfalt gelebt und auf kollektive Intelligenz gesetzt.

Top 5

Luxemburg belegt, unter anderem dank der digitalen Kompetenzen seines Humankapitals, den 5. Platz des DESI Index.

Top 10

Luxemburg wird im Global Innovation Index der INSEAD, zur #8 Europas und #15 der Welt, der innovativsten Länder gelistet.

Top 200

Innerhalb von knapp 10 Jahren hat sich die Universität Luxemburg im Hochschul-Ranking der Times unter den 200 Top-Universitäten der Welt etabliert.

#1

#1 der Welt in punkto technologische Reife nach dem Index des Weltwirtschaftsforums.

#1

#1 digitale Botschaft der Welt in Kooperation mit der estnischen Regierung.

3

CISCO wird Luxemburg 3 Jahre lang begleiten um die digitale transformation zu beschleunigen.

79%

79% der Bevölkerung nutzt online Banking.

82%

82% der Bevölkerung kauft online ein.

25%

25% der Rechenzentren mit der höchsten Verfügbarkeitskategorie Tier IV Europas befinden sich in Luxemburg.

1

1 europäischer Superrechner, der in Kürze als gemeinsames Projekt mit Frankreich, Italien und Spanien im Grossherzogtum installiert werden soll.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 15-11-2018