Background

The idea of promoting the Grand Duchy abroad goes back to the 1990s. With globalisation, it had become increasingly clear that the country needed coordinated action in order to nurture its image and structure its promotion.

An initial structure was set up in the early 2000s at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, bringing together a number of key players in promoting the Grand Duchy abroad. A visual identity for promoting the country was developed in 2004, providing an initial framework for the various initiatives. 

The Nation Branding Committee set up in March 2013 sets out and implements strategies for promoting the country’s brand image. The committee is coordinated by a small team at the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and chaired by a representative of the Ministry of the Economy; its members represent about fifteen ministries and institutions. Its action is one of the Government’s priorities. It is henceforth known as Coordination Committee Inspiring Luxembourg.

"The promotion of the Grand Duchy as a place that welcomes foreign investment, as an exporting country, and as a tourist, cultural and commercial destination will be based on the implementation of a concept of ‘nation branding’. Positive values carried by the image of the Grand Duchy will be set forth and applied by the various actors and in official media campaigns, for which the Government will make available the necessary resources."

Extract from the Government agreement of December 2013

  • Updated 05-10-2016

Historique

La question de la promotion du pays à l’étranger est un débat qui remonte aux années 1990. Avec la mondialisation, il devenait de plus en plus clair que le pays avait besoin d’une action coordonnée pour valoriser son image et structurer sa promotion.

Une première structure a été mise en place au début des années 2000 au sein du ministère des Affaires étrangères regroupant quelques acteurs clés de la promotion du pays à l’étranger. Une identité visuelle pour la promotion du pays a ainsi été développée en 2004, donnant un premier cadre aux différentes actions.

Créé en mars 2013, le Comité Nation Branding propose et met en œuvre des stratégies pour la promotion de l’image de marque du pays. Coordonné par une petite équipe au ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes et présidé par un représentant du ministère de l’Économie, le comité est composé de membres d’une quinzaine de ministères et d’institutions. Son action est l’une des priorités du gouvernement. Il s’appelle désormais Comité de coordination Inspiring Luxembourg.

"La promotion du Luxembourg en tant que terre d’accueil d’investissements étrangers, en tant que pays exportateur et en tant que destination touristique, culturelle et commerciale sera fondée sur la mise en place d’un concept de 'Nation Branding'. Des valeurs positives véhiculées par l’image du Luxembourg seront établies et utilisées par les différents acteurs et dans les campagnes médiatiques officielles pour lesquelles le gouvernement mettra à disposition les moyens nécessaires."

(Extrait de l’accord gouvernemental de décembre 2013)

  • Mis à jour le 04-10-2016