Luxembourg's values

Openness, dynamism, reliability

Three words and three values that sum up the country and are cherished by the population and stakeholders in the Grand Duchy; they have not been chosen at random.

These values gradually came to the fore in a participatory process comprising surveys, individual interviews, discussion groups and debates as well as the direct contributions from the general public via an online platform. This participatory approach is a key element of the overall strategy carried out by the Government since 2013.

To be credible, the promotion of the country has to be based on true facts. Its communication has to be genuine and convincing. These three values correspond to the true qualities of the Grand Duchy; they characterise the country fundamentally and supersede any current events. It is right to be proud of them and to convey them.

Messages reflecting these three words will feature in the country’s campaigns and its communication activities. They seek to inspire all stakeholders in the arguments they develop for their own communication needs and for their various sectors of activity. Luxembourg’s promotion will consistently draw upon these three arguments in order gradually to reinforce the country’s distinctive profile.

Reliable

The Grand Duchy is a country that can be relied upon: an economically and politically stable country, offering a serene environment, a place where people enjoy living. Its citizens are also reknown for their own well-grounded mind-set. They cherish their traditions, cultivate consensus, and favour sustainable solutions. The quality of the country’s public infrastructures also reflects this concern. The solid legal framework and the health and social security system are key features of the reliable environment Luxembourg offers.

Dynamic

In the course of its history, the Grand Duchy has reinvented itself a number of times. First a farming country, then an industrial power, it has managed to develop a service-sector economy. A new phase of development is taking place in the areas of research, digital technologies, space industries, and the like. The same dynamic thrust can be seen in the cultural sector, around creative industries and social initiatives, within the solidarity-based economy, and around the concept of circular economy. The country is constantly creating new jobs, attracting talent and investment capital from all over the world. 

Open

Openness to the outside world is a key element of the Luxembourg model of society. The Grand Duchy has always fought for a united open Europe, a Europe characterised by tolerance and solidarity. Development cooperation is one of the pillars of its foreign policy. As a cosmopolitan crossroads at the centre of Europe, the Grand Duchy is a real melting-pot of nationalities, cultures and languages. Therein also lies openness to new projects and partnerships. The Grand Duchy is an international meeting place where integration is an everyday reality.

  • Updated 05-10-2016

Les valeurs du Luxembourg

Ouverture, dynamisme, fiabilité

Trois mots, trois valeurs qui caractérisent le pays et auxquelles les citoyens et acteurs du Luxembourg adhèrent, et qui n’ont pas été choisies au hasard.

Ces valeurs se sont peu à peu dessinées dans un processus participatif à travers des sondages, des entretiens individuels, des groupes de discussion et de débat mais aussi par des contributions directes du public sur la plateforme mise en ligne à cet effet. Cette approche participative constitue d’ailleurs l’élément clé de l’ensemble de la stratégie initiée depuis 2013 par le gouvernement.

Pour être crédible, la promotion du pays doit se baser sur la réalité. Elle doit être authentique, convaincante. Ces trois valeurs correspondent à de réelles qualités du Luxembourg, elles caractérisent le pays au-delà des aléas de l’actualité et il est légitime d’en être fier et d’en parler.

Les messages que véhiculent ces trois mots vont se retrouver dans les campagnes et les actions de communication du pays mais aussi inspirer tous les acteurs pour l’argumentation de leur propre communication comme celle de leur secteur. En pratique, la promotion du Luxembourg va toujours mettre ces trois arguments en avant afin de renforcer, peu à peu, ce profil distinctif du pays.

Fiable

Le Luxembourg est un pays sur lequel on peut compter: un pays économiquement et politiquement stable, un environnement serein, un lieu dans lequel il fait bon vivre. Cette stabilité se retrouve dans la mentalité de ses citoyens. Ils soignent leurs traditions, cultivent le consensus, privilégient les solutions durables. La qualité des infrastructures publiques témoigne de cette même volonté. Le cadre juridique et le système de santé et de sécurité sociale renforcent cette fiabilité.

Dynamique

Au fil de son histoire, le Luxembourg s’est réinventé plusieurs fois. Pays agricole puis puissance industrielle, il a su transformer son économie en une société de services. Aujourd’hui, une nouvelle mutation est à l’œuvre dans la recherche, les technologies digitales, les industries de l’espace… Le même dynamisme se manifeste dans le secteur culturel, les industries créatives, les initiatives sociales, l’économie solidaire, l’économie circulaire… Le pays crée sans cesse de nouveaux emplois et attire talents et capitaux du monde entier.

Ouvert

L’ouverture vers l’extérieur est un élément clé du modèle de société luxembourgeois. Le Luxembourg s’est toujours battu pour une Europe unie et ouverte, caractérisée par la tolérance et la solidarité. La coopération au développement est l’un des piliers de sa politique extérieure. Carrefour cosmopolite au centre de l’Europe, le Luxembourg est un véritable melting-pot de nationalités, de cultures et de langues. C’est sans doute aussi pour cela qu’il est ouvert aux nouveaux projets et partenariats. Le Luxembourg est un lieu de rencontre international, miroir d’une intégration vécue au quotidien.

  • Mis à jour le 05-10-2016