A global society

To get a sense of what a "global society" can be, you only need to pay a visit to the Grand Duchy. This most cosmopolitan of countries in the world has succeeded to build an open and invigorating society. It today offers one of the most attractive places in the world to live and to pursue an international career.

"The country where everyone feels at home" could be Luxembourg’s motto. Indeed, almost half the population comes from all over the world. This is the case all the more so in Luxembourg City where, at day-time, three quarters of the inhabitants come from another country. This is a very common situation in schools, where children get along together quite naturally and rapidly adopt a very international culture.

While the country has three legally recognised languages (Luxembourgish, French and German), English is widely used. This exceptional multilingualism has always given Luxembourg’s politicians and entrepreneurs an extraordinary ability to understand their interlocutors and to take on a role as mediator in international relations quite naturally.

This capacity to look outwards explains why the Grand Duchy has been a founding member of some of the most important international organisations and today still continues to play an important role in them. The ability to adapt lies at the basis of the tolerance that prevails over cultural and religious relations in the country.

3.6

3.6 languages spoken per capita on average.

#8

#8 worldwide for proficiency in English.

47%

47% foreign residents (70% in Luxembourg City) originating from 170 countries.

#1

#1 worldwide for the percentage of skilled labour in the working population.

Top 20

Among the Top 20 most globalised countries (economic, social and political) according to ETH Zurich.

#2

The university of Luxembourg ranks #2 most international university in the world, according to the Times ranking.

  • Updated 19-03-2017

Une société monde

Pour avoir une idée de ce que peut être une "société monde", il faut visiter le Luxembourg. Le plus cosmopolite des Etats a su construire une société ouverte et stimulante, aujourd’hui parmi les plus attractives pour y vivre et faire une carrière internationale.

"Le pays où chacun se sent chez soi" pourrait être la devise du Luxembourg. En effet, près de la moitié de la population vient des quatre coins du monde, encore davantage dans la capitale où, pendant la journée, les trois quarts des personnes viennent d’un autre pays. Une situation très familière dans les écoles où les enfants se côtoient de manière naturelle et adoptent rapidement une culture très internationale.

Si le pays a 3 langues reconnues légalement (luxembourgeois, français et allemand), l’usage de l’anglais est une seconde nature pour ses habitants. Ce multilinguisme hors du commun a toujours conféré aux politiciens et entrepreneurs luxembourgeois une extraordinaire facilité à comprendre leurs interlocuteurs et à jouer naturellement les médiateurs dans les relations internationales.

Cette aptitude à regarder vers l’extérieur explique que le Luxembourg soit membre fondateur des plus importantes instances internationales et qu’il y joue un rôle important. Une faculté à s’adapter à l’autre qui explique aussi que la tolérance dans les relations culturelles et religieuses règne dans le pays.


3,6

3,6 langues parlées par personne en moyenne.

#8

#8 dans le monde pour la maîtrise de l’anglais.

47%

Des résidents à 47% étrangers, de 170 pays (70% dans la capitale).

#1

#1 mondial pour la part de la main d’œuvre hautement qualifiée dans la population active.

Top 20

Dans le Top 20 des pays les plus mondialisés au niveau économique, social et politique selon l’ETH de Zurich.

#2

L'Université du Luxembourg classée #2 université la plus internationale au monde selon le Times.
  • Mis à jour le 19-03-2017